The local church and its connection to other United Methodist churches and ministries is the heart of the our ministry.

People work in fellowship to minister to their own congregations, the community, and people in need around the world.

The United Methodist churches in the Louisiana Annual Conference are divided into six geographical districts:


  • Shreveport
  • Monroe
  • Acadiana
  • Lake Charles
  • Baton Rouge
  • New Orleans

Each district is made up of dozens of churches and the clergy leader of each district is the District Superintendent.

The District Ministry Team (DMT) is composed of about a dozen members who coordinate the ministries of each district.